Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

The scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) involves the rigorous examination and investigation of higher education teaching and learning; that is, SoTL uses a research-based, scientific and scholarly lens to examine questions in higher education pedagogy, making the results public for examination and critique. The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award is designed to recognize those faculty members who have dedicated themselves to the pursuit of scholarship addressing the realm of higher education teaching and learning.

This rigorous and systematic examination, investigation, and pursuit of scholarship addressing teaching and learning may "look" different across different domains (e.g., engineering, music, chemistry, dance, philosophy). The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award is sensitive to this variation and faculty members from all domains are encouraged to submit nominations.

The The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award is given to a maximum of two recipients per year. Award winners receive a $500 prize and a plaque.


All Virginia Tech instructional and research faculty (full and part-time) and graduate students are eligible for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award. Individuals, groups and teams are welcome to apply.

Nomination Materials

All nominations must include the following materials, in a single PDF file:

  • Cover Page: The cover page must include the nominee's name, rank, area of expertise, years at Virginia Tech, College and Department. (1 page)
  • Statement of Pedagogical Research Interests: A two-page statement of the nominee's scholarship of teaching and learning research interests, guiding research questions, theoretical framework, and relevant scholarly productivity. (2 pages)
  • Curriculum Vita: Nominees should also include a curriculum vita, no longer than 3 pages, that highlights their scholarship of teaching and learning efforts and achievements. (3 pages)
  • Supporting Materials: The supporting materials, 2 items only, may include peer-reviewed publications, conference presentations/papers, and/or publicly available representations, resources, reports or presentations (e.g., artistic expressions, web-based resources, project report, keynote addresses). If supporting materials include digital artifacts, nominees may include URLs or copies of materials on CDs/DVDs, or other relevant media.

Nomination materials must be submitted electronically as a single PDF file.

Nomination materials are due April 22, 2016 at 5 pm.

Previous Winners

Jennifer Brill
Robert P. Stephens

Katherine Cennamo
Gerard Lawson

Susan Asselin
Vinod Lohani

Katherine Allen
Gary Long

Kelly Parkes

Brian Murphy
Jim Dubinsky