Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research

About Us

Mission Statement

The Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research (CIDER) fosters the design, development, implementation, and evaluation of disciplinary and interdisciplinary learner-centered instruction; promotes and recognizes excellence in higher education instruction; supports and conducts research on the scholarship of teaching and learning; and advocates for a campus climate that values educating the whole student through effective, innovative and transformative instruction.

Personnel Information

Kim Filer
Director
Assistant Provost for Teaching and Learning
kfiler@vt.edu
540-231-2685
Danielle Lusk
Associate Director for Professional Development
dlusk@vt.edu
540-231-7930
Tiffany Shoop
Associate Director for Special Programs
tshoop@vt.edu
540-231-0785
Liesl Baum
Associate Director for Strategic Initiatives
lmbaum@vt.edu
540-231-0991
Leslie Williams
Coordinator for Curricular Initiatives
lawill1@vt.edu
540-231-3954
Anne-Lise Velez
Postdoctoral Associate
aknox@vt.edu
540-231-2173
Jenna Haynes
Professional Development Fellow
jenna4@vt.edu
Katie Ayers
Professional Development Fellow
ayersk14@vt.edu
Joanie Banks-Hunt
Professional Development Fellow
joaniebh@vt.edu
Bonnie Alberts
Office Manager
balberts@vt.edu
540-231-5212